How Does a Phonics-Based Approach Teach Children to Read?

How Does a Phonics-Based Approach Teach Children to Read?

Over the years there have been many “learning to read” strategies introduced into school curriculums. In the late 90’s and early 2000’s literacy rates were dropping across Australia and something needed to change. A National Inquiry commissioned by Brendan Nelson (Then Minister for Education, Science and Training) in 2004, highlighted the importance of teaching reading with a systematic, phonics-based approach.

It’s about building a proper foundation

Children learn to read with phonics through learning both the 26 letters in the alphabet and the 44 sounds in the English language. This can also be described as learning the code of English. As well as phonics, a child is also introduced to the other four essential components of learning to read – phonemics awareness, comprehension, vocabulary and fluency. It is this comprehensive and scaffolded approach that gives a child a proper foundation for their ‘learning to read’ journey.

Decodable Readers Australia ensure the foundation is built brick by brick

Decodable Readers Australia currently has six levels of decodable readers. Within these levels there are 20 readers. We are the only beginner reading series to include 20 readers. We have structured our levels this way to ensure that each child has the time to learn and understand each set of phonics before moving on to the next level. When a child understands how each letter of the alphabet and each sound works together to create a word, they are able to decode each word and therefore read what each word says.

Contact Decodable Readers Australia for more information

If you would like more information on how learning phonics can turn your child into a confident reader, please feel free to contact our educators. We’re happy to answer your queries, or offer advice on how to get started.

Leave a comment